Rock Band Goes Truckin' With Downloadable Grateful Dead Tracks

First six out of eighteen classic Grateful Dead master recordings set to hit Rock Band

Harmonix and MTV Games today announced plans to take gamers on a long strange trip with the first selection of downloadable Grateful Dead tracks for the revolutionary music video game Rock Band.

On March 4th, gamers looking to channel their inner Dead Head can download six of the legendary band's most popular tracks, including "China Cat Sunflower" (from 1969's Aoxomoxoa), "Casey Jones" (from 1970's Workingman's Dead), "Sugar Magnolia" and "Truckin'" (both from 1970's American Beauty), "Franklin's Tower" (from 1975's Blues For Allah) and "I Need A Miracle" (from 1978's Shakedown Street). Over the next several months, the iconic group will make a total of eighteen master recordings from its diverse catalog available as digitally distributed game levels for Rock Band.

Release dates:

  • March 4, 2008 - Xbox LIVE Marketplace
  • March 6, 2008 - PlayStation Store


  • China Cat Sunflower
  • Casey Jones
  • Sugar Magnolia
  • Truckin'
  • Franklin's Tower
  • I Need A Miracle

All six tracks utilize the original master recordings

Price: $9.99 (880 Microsoft Points for Xbox 360) per pack or $1.99 (160 Microsoft Points for Xbox 360) per track

Locations: PlayStation Store and Xbox LIVE Marketplace