Fuser Is The Next Rhythm Game To Let Us Mix Things Up


A new rhythm game, Fuser, is announced from Harmonix with Fuser having us play DJ without the need of getting more peripherals

There is proof that the rhythm game genre is not dead and shows no signs of dying anytime soon, as we now have the announcement of Fuser to look at. This is the next title in the mix from Harmonix that will have us playing with and mixing up songs from many different genres to enjoy all of the sounds. As the name suggests, Fuser will have us fusing together various songs in a catalog to craft one master song. More or less we are going to get to play DJ yet again. The true kicker here, we will not need to pick up any peripherals or outside hardware to play on the PS4, Xbox One, Switch, or PC. Something we have not had for some time here.

The actual gameplay for Fuser seems a bit odd, as there has yet to be a solid breakdown of just how it will all go. We have some to look at along with some screenshots but the most that can be gleaned is that we will tack vocals, bass lines and other parts from various other songs to blend together. Looking closely at what we do have to see for Fuser so for, it looks like there will be queues to follow and this is how we will score in the song. So, it may not let us have full freedom to create what we want in the short run. That does not stop us from getting to mix up "Regulate" with "Rock The Casbah" and then "(Don't Fear) The Reaper". An interesting mix indeed.

Fuser — Announcement

NCSOFT and Harmonix Music Systems, the developer of the Rock Band video game franchise, will empower players to perform and create sharable mixes for the masses as they play Fuser, the next evolution of interactive music gaming. The game puts players in control of the music, where they can fuse together elements from hit songs by some of the world's top artists, including Billie Eilish, The Chainsmokers, Imagine Dragons, Lil Nas X, Lizzo, Migos, Post Malone, and many more. Fuser will release in 2020 for PlayStation®4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and Windows PC.

Harmonix has been a pioneer of interactive music gaming for nearly 25 years, having created titles like Frequency and Amplitude as well as genre-defining, breakout hits like Rock Band and Dance Central. With Fuser, Harmonix will once again completely revolutionize the music game genre by providing an immersive music sandbox in which players are challenged to perform and create custom mixes from some of music's biggest hits – no peripheral required.

Powered by Harmonix's proprietary technology, Fuser will allow players to seamlessly blend vocals, bass lines, and other instrumentation from a multitude of different music genres and artists to define their own unique sound through seamless, innovative gameplay. Players will also be able to share their creations socially, making their game performances available for watching online.

With more than 100 songs to be included in the game, this is the first partial list of songs available for users to play with; attendees at PAX East in Boston will be the first to try a Fuser demo. The final tracklisting will feature songs from the world's top artists in pop, rap/hip-hop, R&B, dance, rock, country, Latin, and Caribbean music.

Songs included in Fuser:

  • 50 Cent – "In Da Club"
  • Billie Eilish – "bad guy"
  • Blue Öyster Cult – "(Don't Fear) The Reaper"
  • The Chainsmokers ft. Daya – "Don't Let Me Down"
  • The Clash – "Rock the Casbah"
  • Fatboy Slim – "The Rockafeller Skank"
  • Imagine Dragons – "Thunder"
  • J. Balvin & Willy William – "Mi Gente"
  • Lady Gaga – "Born This Way"
  • Lil Nas X ft. Billy Ray Cyrus – "Old Town Road (Remix)"
  • Lizzo – "Good As Hell"
  • LMFAO ft. Lauren Bennett & GoonRock – "Party Rock Anthem"
  • Migos – "Stir Fry"
  • Post Malone – "Better Now"
  • Smash Mouth – "All Star"
  • Warren G & Nate Dogg – "Regulate"
Fuser — Screenshot Fuser — Screenshot
Fuser — Screenshot Fuser — Screenshot Fuser — Screenshot

Fuser — 3 Minutes Of Gameplay

How does Fuser sound to you when you look at it and does it look like the next big progression in the genre? How many tracks do you think we are going to get in the end or will it be rather limited given the work the mixing will take in the first place? Are you just glad that we are not going to need to buy any more controllers or hardware to enjoy their games here? Let us all know down in the comments and then feel free to discuss it all at length. When we learn more for Fuser, we will mix into the content of the site. All you have to do is keep checking back in for all of that and more.