Guitar Hero Live Has Its First Set Of Tracks & Artists

So we've seen the idea behind Guitar Hero Live and what Activision and FreeStyleGames has in the pipeline for us but we all really want to know which rock stars we are going to be pretending to be in the virtual world. Yes the announcement event did give us a couple but we know that there is supposed to be a huge catalog of licenses artists and songs for us to play through. Good news here though as it looks like we can expect updated for Guitar Hero Live track list on a weekly basis and the first 24 artists/songs have been released for us to look at and question.

The full list is just a bit lower, or at least the list as of now, but it seems like about what we could have expected for Guitar Hero Live. We have a bit of Fall Out Boy, some Pantera, Judas Priest, The Killers, and Green Day. Like I said, what we should be expecting for Guitar Hero Live. Weirdly though there is also a listing for Skrillex. I am not a huge music guy but I don't remember there being a lot of guitars, the instrument for the titular Guitar Hero Live, in his music. Maybe it is one of those songs I am just not overly familiar with and it fits. Maybe…

Here is the list of songs/artists thus far for Guitar Hero Live.

  • Alter Bridge — "Cry of Achilles"
  • Alt—J — "Left Hand Free"
  • The Black Keys — "Gold on the Ceiling"
  • Black Veil Brides — "In The End"
  • Blitz Kids — "Sometimes"
  • Broken Bells — "Leave it Alone"
  • Ed Sheeran — "Sing"
  • Fall Out Boy — "My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark (Light Em Up)"
  • Gary Clark Jr. — "Don't Owe You a Thang"
  • Green Day — "Nuclear Family"
  • Judas Priest — "Breaking the Law"
  • The Killers — "When You Were Young"
  • The Lumineers — "Ho Hey"
  • My Chemical Romance — "Na Na Na"
  • Pantera — "Cowboys From Hell"
  • Pierce the Veil — "King for a Day (feat. Kellin Quinn)"
  • The Pretty Reckless — "Going to Hell"
  • Rage Against the Machine — "Guerrilla Radio"
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers — "Higher Ground"
  • The Rolling Stones — "Paint it Black"
  • Sleigh Bells — "Bitter Rivals"
  • Skrillex — "Bangarang"
  • System of a Down — "Chop Suey!"
  • The War on Drugs — "Under The Pressure"

Nothing to write home about like I said. Some of them all what we have played before so it isn't too surprising that Guitar Hero Live will host some of the older songs from past iterations of the franchise. Why go through the hoops to license everything when you still hold the rights to keep using songs huh? Looks like Guitar Hero Live will be just as we expected when it was first announced; at least in terms of songs and performers.

What do you have to say about the list above for Guitar Hero Live? See a lot of your favorites so far or do you have a separate list that you wish to see added here. Is it weird to have generally non-guitar based songs in Guitar Hero Live? Let us know what you think down in the comments below and we'll keep adding to the list as Activision and Freestyle keep it grown over the coming weeks.

Guitar Hero Live